Travel and taxes

Some states and territories exempt hotel taxes for USPS employees

Eleven states and two territories exempt hotel taxes for Postal Service and other government employees on official travel.

These locations are: Alaska, Delaware, Florida, Kansas, Massachusetts, Missouri, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas, Wisconsin, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands.

The USPS Travelers Quickstart Guide has more information.

The required exemption forms are available on the General Services Administration’s site. This includes forms for Puerto Rico, which recently changed its documentation requirements.

A link is also available on the Postal Service’s Travel Help page under State Tax Exempt Forms.