Life in the safe lane

Deborah Hersman, the National Safety Council’s president and chief executive officer, presents the Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver of the Year Award to Brandon, FL, Letter Carrier Danny Ontengco recently.

The National Safety Council recently recognized seven Postal Service employees who have safe driving records.

The employees received the Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver of the Year Award, which honors professional drivers and others for their driving records, including miles and years driven without a preventable crash.

Each year, the council gives the award to one employee from each USPS area. This year’s honorees are:

  • Gerald Jahnz, a New Berlin, WI, letter carrier (Great Lakes)
  • Danny Ontengco, a Brandon, FL, letter carrier (Southern)
  • Horace Ray, a recently retired Burnsville, NC, letter carrier (Capital Metro)
  • Ron Riville, a San Bernardino, CA, area maintenance technician (Pacific)
  • Gary Stout, a Minneapolis tractor-trailer operator (Western)
  • Marty Stout, a Hatboro, PA, letter carrier (Eastern)
  • James Suchocki, Worcester, MA, letter carrier (Northeast)

“These professional drivers reflect the Postal Service’s safety culture and our commitment to safety on the road for both our employees and the public,” Safety Director Linda DeCarlo said. “Each one serves as a role model for their co-workers across the nation.”

The council is a nonprofit organization that promotes accident-free workplaces. The award is named for a longtime safety advocate who served as president of the council’s Southern California chapter.

The council’s site has more information.