Presidential salute

George H.W. Bush stamp

The Postal Service will release a stamp honoring former President George H.W. Bush on Wednesday, June 12.

Bush, who served as the 41st president from 1989-1993, died last fall at age 94.

During his term in office, he guided the United States and its allies to a peaceful end to the Cold War, helped reunify Germany, and led a multinational coalition that successfully forced Iraq to withdraw from Kuwait during the Persian Gulf War.

On the domestic front, Bush signed historic legislation to integrate Americans with disabilities more fully into society, as well as a Clean Air Act update that tightened air pollution standards and reduced urban smog and acid rain.

The stamp art is a portrait of Bush painted by award-winning artist Michael J. Deas. The image is based on a 1997 photograph taken by Timothy Greenfield-Sanders.

Phil Jordan served as the art director and stamp designer.

The stamp was announced in April and will be dedicated June 12, the president’s birthday, at the Annenberg Presidential Conference Center in College Station, TX.

Robert M. Duncan, chairman of the Postal Service Board of Governors, will serve as the dedicating official.

The stamp will be available at Post Offices and