Board of Governors

Table in conference room

The U.S. Senate confirmed three nominations to the Postal Service Board of Governors on Aug. 1.

The Senate confirmed John Barger, a California resident; Ron Bloom, a New York resident; and Roman Martinez IV, a Florida resident.

President Trump nominated Bloom and Martinez last year, while Barger was nominated this year.

“The U.S. Postal Service is pleased with this action by the U.S. Senate to confirm nominees to the Postal Service Board of Governors,” said Postmaster General Megan J. Brennan. “We look forward to working with John Barger, Ron Bloom and Roman Martinez IV when they begin their terms as governors, and thank the administration for nominating them to serve on the board. The public interest and the Postal Service are best served by a board made up of well qualified individuals with diverse perspectives and experience, so we welcome the addition of our new governors to join Chairman Robert Duncan and Governor David Williams.”

The USPS Board of Governors acts much like a board of directors, conducting long-range planning and setting strategic policies, among other duties.

Under current law, the board is intended to be comprised of nine governors and the Postmaster General and Deputy Postmaster General.

The Postal Service’s Leadership page on has more information about the board.