Board of governors

The U.S. Senate has confirmed two nominees to the Postal Service Board of Governors.

Derek T. Kan and Daniel M. Tangherlini will succeed John M. Barger and Ron A. Bloom, whose terms have expired.

Kan was the deputy director of the White House Office of Management and Budget during the Trump administration, while Tangherlini was the administrator of the General Services Administration during the Obama administration.

The USPS Board of Governors acts much like a board of directors, conducting long-range planning and setting strategic policies, among other duties.

The Leadership page on has more information about the board.