Transporting architecture

The Postal Service will release its latest stamps, Railroad Stations, on March 9.

The stamps celebrate the romance and glamour of train travel by featuring five railroad stations — architectural gems all — that continue to play an important role in the life of their communities.

They are Tamaqua Station in Pennsylvania; Point of Rocks Station in Maryland; Main Street Station in Richmond, VA; Santa Fe Station in San Bernardino, CA; and Union Terminal in Cincinnati.

All five are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Art direction for the stamps was provided by Derry Noyes, a USPS art director. Down the Street Designs created the stamp images and typography.

The Forever stamps will be available at Post Offices and